Saying Goodbye

Saying goodbye, going away

Seems like goodbye’s such a hard thing to say

Touching a hand, wondering why

It’s time for saying goodbye

Saying goodbye, why is it sad?

Makes us remember the good times we’ve had

Much more to say, foolish to try

It’s time for saying goodbye

Don’t want to leave, but we both know

Sometimes it’s better to go

Somehow I know we’ll meet again

Not sure quite where, and I don’t know just when

You’re in my heart, so until then

Wanna smile, wanna cry

Saying goodbye

La la la la la la la la

It’s time for saying goodbye

th-36

The worst thing about being an expat is knowing you may never get to see a loved one again.

In loving memory of my mother.

c82219be-6e04-4a1f-96ff-af103b69976e

*Lyrics from Favorite Song From Jim Henson’s Muppets, Time for saying goodbye

More lyrics: http://www.lyricsmode.com/lyrics/t/the_muppets

Read more at http://www.songlyrics.com/muppets/saying-goodbye-lyrics/#oYZm4pLgcZK6xrPc.99

This entry was published on April 22, 2013 at 5:34 pm. It’s filed under Expat Life, Home/Archive and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

11 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye

  1. So sorry for your loss Constance. This is such a beautiful and touching post in its simpllicity and which has come out of deep pain and loss. I pray that you and your family will know peace and strength during this very difficult time.

  2. Constance, I’m so sorry for your loss. Your sentiments are beautiful, and touch a nerve – as you say, the toughest thing about being an expat x

  3. Hey hun… beautiful sentiments! When my mother died, I was caught by surprise. She had been fighting cancer for two years. I had been to see her a month earlier (spring break) and she was in the hospital at Las Cruces, but was improving and the doctors said she would be driving again by summer. So I left her side and returned to Hawaii — teary-eyed all the way. Then, just a few weeks later I get the call out of the blue on a Sunday morning — she was gone! It’s hard to describe all the feelings; wishing I had been close by, wishing I had been more “in the loop” of things as they developed. But, while it hurts, perhaps we can take a little comfort in knowing that our moms, mine and yours, did not raise us to be chained to to their bedsides… they raised us to “FLY!” And, sharing a similar faith, we both know that in the grand scheme of things, we’ve not lost them at all. They are now part of the “great cloud of witnesses” (Hebrews 12:1) surrounding us and cheering us on in this ongoing race of life.

    I love you more than words can tell.

    Your “brudda-cuz” ~ Philip

  4. Constance, This is so beautiful. Very sorry for your loss. I lost my Dad when we lived in Khartoum … it’s so tough. All the best, Terri

  5. My mother died at the same age. Too young.

  6. Your mother? I am so sorry.

  7. Mi amor I am so so proud of you, without a doubt the beauty of sharing my life with YOU is the every day mysteries I get to learn from you even after 16 of the most amazing years of our marriage. This post touched my soul in an unimaginable way. There are no words for me to express how sorry I am for yours and our kids loss. Sharing your most inner thoughts about your mother is an amazing way for all of us to remember such an incredible woman.

    I love you so so much and I thank God every day for that unbelievable day He blessed me with the courage to say “Hello” to You for the very first time…

  8. I agree – that is definitely the worst thing about being an expat. Lovely picture of your mother and a touching post.

Leave a Reply

