Where have all the cowboys gone?

Where have all the cowboys gone?

Daddy and his brothers on stick horses handmade by their grandmother. New Mexico, USA

My Dad and his brothers on stick horses handmade by their grandmother. New Mexico, USA

When you grow up or move away you seem to lose touch with your family history and their way of life. Somehow technology and time also changes a way of life. Gone are the days of cattle drives on horse back.

Great Grandfather far right on cattle drive 1915

Great Grandfather far right on cattle drive 1915

I believe it is important to keep a part of your family history in your home to help you remember or just to connect with a life you never knew. This is even more important if you and your family move across the country or on the other side of the world.

My home is decorated in a relaxed French and Spanish feel, but I have mixed in cowhide rugs on our bare floors and cowhide pillows mixed with french linen pillows. Family photos posted here are in frames mixed with current family photos. I also wear my turquoise bracelet almost daily that was handed down from my mother’s family. This is how I connect my family’s history with my style to keep me rooted our past.

Elle Decor - French Cottage with Cowhide rug.

Elle Decor – French Cottage with Cowhide rug.

Antique Navajo bracelet I wear with everything - jeans, tailored jacket, dresses...

Antique Navajo bracelet I wear with everything – jeans, tailored jacket, dresses…

I do yearn to see a great pair of cowboy boots or a smart Stetson hat, pressed wrangler jeans and a starch white button down shirt as my father always wore.

I hope you enjoy these photos of my family’s past and my current location in the middle east. While I wonder where have all the cowboys gone?

Source: Constance Citalan, http://expat.stateofmind@wordpress.com

Source: Constance Citalan, http://expat.stateofmind@wordpress.com

photo-3

Souk Waqif - Doha, Qatar

Souk Waqif – Doha, Qatar

Getty Image

Getty Image

I wonder does my cousin have a pair of cowboy boots or old western momentos from the past next to his surf boards in Hawaii? What is your family’s past? Do you include your family’s history in your home with memento’s, family photos, memorabilia?

This entry was published on February 22, 2013 at 2:14 pm. It’s filed under Expat Life, Feels like home..., Home/Archive, Looks like home..., Make it yours... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Where have all the cowboys gone?

  1. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article.

    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely return.

  2. Hey sweetheart, yeah, your cousin has his cowboy boots sitting on the lanai (deck) in a shoe rack right outside the door. Big Island Hawai’i is paniolo (Hawaiian cowboy) country don’t ya know — so I need them occasionally. I also have other cowboy paraphernalia stored in my closet. As for house decor, bout all we have that takes us back to our West Texas/Southwest New Mexico roots is a signed/numbered print of an original oil painting by the famous, California painter — the late Thomas Kinkade — entitled, Placerville Christmas Memories II. The painting features a home that allegedly does actually exist — a beautiful, old, snow laden, stone cabin in the woods with a log bunkhouse next to it. There are three saddled horses tied to hitching posts standing outside in front of the house. Not only is it a beautiful and timeless painting that captures a particular era of frontier American history, but it seems to connect me back to my cowboy heritage and growing up in the mountains of Southwestern New Mexico. We have the painting hanging on a wall in our master bedroom. Never forget this cousin loves you!

  3. Love this 🙂 Where have all the cowboys gone?

Leave a Reply

